You are here :   Home Depts
Today is Saturday, 03 December 2016
City of Jasper, Texas - Public Library
Title Filter     Display # 
# Article Title
Jasper Public Library
175 Water St. Jasper, Texas 75951
Phone: 409-384-3791 Fax: 409-384-5881
Library Director: Denise Milton
Hours Monday - Friday 10AM - 6PM • Saturday 10AM - 5PM

The first library in Jasper was opened on April 4, 1936 in the east front corner of Wood's Drug Store. As in prior endeavors, the Jasper Woman's Civic Club was persistent and at long last, we had a library. In 1937, a building to house the library and the Woman's Civic Club was built. Until 1967, it was housed and financed entirely by the club, then the City of Jasper assumed full financial responsibility.

 Many citizens of Jasper gave generously to the building fund for a new library building. Donations from T.L.L. Temple Foundation and the Texas State Library through an LSCA Title II Construction Grant made the new building possible. The present building was dedicated on April 4, 1986.

 In 2007, T.L.L. Temple Foundation generously donated 5 acres of land for a new library facility. Plans are in progress to build a new library on this site.

 The Jasper Public Library Advisory Board meets each month on the second Tuesday at 5:00 p.m. in the Fire Hall at the Jasper Fire Department, located next door to the Library. Board Members are: Eileen Lindsey, Margie Saulsbury (Chairperson), Denise Milton (Acting Secretary), Kay Breidenthal (Lay Representative), Tom Herbst, Karon Radford, Mary Ellen Eddie, Diane Gretencord, Liz Connell, and Teresa Stockdale.